The CIAN Team
ERC for Integrated Access Networks (CIAN)
Established 2008

Leadership Team
CIAN's leadership team, is shown below. The Executive Committee, comprised of a mixture of students, staff, and faculty, orchestrates CIAN's overall direction.

Name Title Contact
Dr. Nasser Peyghambarian Director

University of Arizona nnp@u.arizona.edu

Dr. Yeshaiahu Fainman Deputy Director University of California, San Diego
fainman@ece.ucsd.edu

Dr. Alan Kost

Administrative Director

University of Arizona
akost@arizona.edu

Kimberly Sierra-Cajas

Education Director

University of Arizona
kimberly@optics.arizona.edu

Dr. Supapan Seraphin

Pre-College Education Director

University of Arizona
seraphin@u.arizona.edu

Jorge Sanchez

Industrial Collaboration and
Innovation Director

University of Arizona
jpsanchez@optics.arizona.edu

Dr. John Wissinger

Testbed Lead

University of Arizona
jwissinger@optics.arizona.edu

Dr. Robert Norwood

Thrust 1

University of Arizona
rnorwood@optics.arizona.edu

Dr. Alan Willner

Thrust 1 Lead

University of Southern California
willner@usc.edu

Dr. Keren Bergman

Thrust 1 Co-Lead

Columbia University
bergman@ee.columbia.edu

Dr. Gil Zussman

Thrust 1

Columbia University
gil@ee.columbia.edu

Dr. George Papen

Thrust 1 , Testbed

University of California, San Diego
gpapen@ece.ucsd.edu

Dr. Stojan Radic

Thrust 1, Thrust 2 , Testbed

University of California, San Diego
sradic@ucsd.edu

Dr. Joseph (Joe) Touch

Thrust 1

University of Southern California touch@isi.edua

Dr. Amin M. Vahdat

Thrust 1

University of California, San Diego
vahdat@cs.ucsd.edu

Dr. Ivan B. Djordjevic Thrust 1

University of Arizona
ivan@email.arizona.edu

Dr. Tajana Rosing Thrust 1 University of California, San Diego
tajana@cs.ucsd.edu
Dr. Jun He Thrust 1 University of Arizona
jhe@optics.arizona.edu

Dr. Axel Scherer

Thrust 2 Lead

Caltech
etcher@caltech.edu

Dr. Ming Wu

Thrust 2 Co-Lead, Thrust 3

University of California, Berkeley
mingwu@berkeley.edu

Dr. Joseph E. Ford

Thrust 3

University of California, San Diego
jeford@ucsd.edu

Dr. Oskar Painter

Thrust 2

Caltech
opainter@caltech.edu

Dr. Connie Chang-Hasnain

Thrust 3 Lead

University of California, Berkeley
cch@eecs.berkeley.edu

Dr. Hyatt Gibbs

Thrust 3 Co-Lead

University of Arizona
gibbs@optics.arizona.edu

Dr. Galina Khitrova Thrust 3 University of Arizona
galina@optics.arizona.edu

Dr. Michael A. Awaah

Thrust 3

Tuskegee University
awaahm@mytu.tuskegee.edu

Dr. Li Jiang Thrust 3 Tuskegee University
jl7811@yahoo.com

Dr. Bahram Jalali

Thrust 2

University of California, Los Angeles
jalali@ee.ucla.edu

Dr. Frances Williams Thrust 3 Researcher, Diversity Co-Directors Norfolk State University
fwilliams@nsu.edu
Dr. Arlene Maclin Diversity Co-Directors Morgan State University
amaclin9@hotmail.com
Dr. Patricia Mead Thrust 3 Researcher, Super-Course Development Lead Norfolk State University
pmead@nsu.edu
Dr. George Porter Coordinator Working Group 1 University of California, San Diego
gmporter@ucsd.edu
Dr. Maziar Nezhad Coordinator Working Group 1 University of California, San Diego
maziar@ucsd.edu
Dr. Massoud Karbassian Coordinator Working Group 2 University of Arizona
mkarbassian@optics.arizona.edu
Dr. Balagangadhar Bathula Coordinator Working Group 2 Columbia University
bbathula@ee.columbia.edu
Adam Jones President Student Leadership Council

University of Arizona
ajones@optics.arizona.edu

Earl Parsons Vice President Student Leadership Council University of Arizona
eparsons@optics.arizona.edu
Xuemei Wang Education Coordinator University of California, San Diego
xmwang@ucsd.edu
Trin Riojas Coordinator

University of Arizona
trin@optics.arizona.edu

Yousaf Riaz Manager IT ERC

University of Arizona
yriaz@optics.arizona.edu

Events:

News:

Contact Us:

Dr. Alan Kost

Center Administrator

Center for Integrated
Access Networks,
University of Arizona
College of Optical Sciences
1630 East University Boulevard.
Tucson, Arizona 85721 USA

Tel: 520-626-7596
Fax: 520-626-6219


Yousaf Riaz

Manager IT

Tel: 520-626-9056
Fax: 520-621-4442

 

This material is based upon work supported by the Engineering Research Center Program of the National Science Foundation under NSF Cooperative Support Agreement Award No. EEC-0812072. Any opinions, findings, and conclusions or recommendations expressed in this material are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect those of the National Science Foundation. © 2008 The Arizona Board of Regents. | webmaster@cian-erc.org